When you complete a GPS tracked activity within Pacer, you have the option to share that activity with the Pacer community and with your friends social media. This article will explain all of your sharing options so that your activities are shared (or not shared) in accordance with your privacy and safety preferences.
How does GPS activity sharing work on Pacer?
It is helpful to understand Pacer's GPS sharing options by thinking about two questions:
- Who should be able to see my activity?
- What information should be visible?
Who should be able to see my activity?
When you complete a GPS tracked activity, you will have the option to set the "visibility" of that activity. There are three options:
Public: Anyone who finds your profile in the Pacer app will be able to see, like and comment on this activity.
Followers Only: Only your followers in the Pacer app will be able to see, like and comment on this activity. You can choose to limit your followers by setting your account to private.
Private: No one but you can see, like or comment on this activity.
Pacer will remember the privacy setting of your most recent GPS activity and use that as the default setting for each new activity. However, you always have the option to change this setting before saving your GPS activities, and you can go back and change it for each activity at any time.
What information should be visible?
By default, other users who see your activity will be able to see your activity's start time, total distance, pace, calories burned, steps taken, elevation gained and average speed. They will also see your splits and your tracked route on the map (including start and end locations).
If you would like to share your GPS tracked activity but do not want to reveal your location on a map, there is an option to set your activity to "Private map mode." (see screenshots)
In "Private map mode" you will still be able to see your location on a map. Other users, however, will only see an outline of your route on top of a greyed-out map (see screenshots). If you share a "Private map mode" activity to social media, users there will also only see a greyed-out map.
I just want to share a screenshot. How do I hide my location?
Many users like to take screenshots of their GPS tracked activities to share within Pacer or on social media. For these users, we also offer a special map style that obscures your actual location. See the screenshots below for how to change map styles and enable the this map style.